In this project the differential effectiveness of formative assessment on the described learning process in the integrated learning and action model shall be measured in a longitudinal study.

This project aims at capturing the differential effectiveness of formative assessment on the learning processes integrated in a learning and action model in the scope of a large scale assessment in the university sector.

  1. In co-operation with the Institute of Applied Educational Research in Leipzig a pilot study is conducted (n=800). Therefore, students of different institutions are asked to capture typical motivational patterns of self-regulated learning.
  2. In preparation for the assessment, a universal software for the assessment and feedback of motivational learning processes is developed (motivatoring).


Within the scope of this project a theoretically derived learning and action model is validated and used at the same time to gain insight into the processes of self-regulatory learning and the support of these processes through formative assessment.


At the end of 2014 an assessment with students of the second semester is conducted at universities with a preliminary assessment as well as a follow up study: The preliminary assessment at the first measuring point is complemented with a cross-sectional study with n=1.000 students to identify learning types with a high statistical accuracy. In the main assessment students go through a computer based learning section with the topic ‘statistics’ within a net time period of 15 clock hours. In the follow-up assessment the learning progress is obtained and complemented by qualitative interviews.


Finance: SEED- grant European Social Fund


Ana Remesal, Universität Barcelona

Julius Kuhl, Universität Osnabrück

Daniela Heinze, Universität Mainz

Christiane Metzger, Fachhochschule Kiel

Rolf Schulmeister, Universität Hamburg

Institute of Applied Educational Research, Leipzig

Duration: 01.10.2012 – 30.11.2014

Status: running

Project management: Thomas Martens

Project team: Oliver Schneider; Tony Eckelmann (IFAB); Matthias Redler